Of This December.

Me: So, I’m gonna budget around 1000 for the Langkawi trip. Is that okay with you?


Moke: Real money or Malaysian money?


10 mins later:

Me: I think a full tank of gas would be sufficient but maybe around 50/person.


Moke: You are planning this in too much detail xD

So, Moke is actually Mozart. My Australian friend who will be coming over to Malaysia this December for two weeks. We’ve been online friends since October 2010 and have been telling our respective friends multiple times that:

“No, we are not dating each other.”

The original plan was for me to visit him this year but after I realised I didn’t have a travel buddy, he decided that he will treat himself to finishing his law degree (his second degree) with a visit to Malaysia.

He bought his ticket sometime in May and is letting me doing something I really love.

Planning an itinerary for his visit.

Me: Is it ok if your days are not jam packed cause you’ll be here for like 2 weeks?


Moke: YES.

Note: Earlier this year he spent around a month visiting 7 European countries with a very packed itinerary. I am still very jealous of this but when he mentioned that he got a gift for me he is forgiven.

Right now I am looking up for places to bring him to visit. I live near Kuala Lumpur, the capital city of Malaysia and its on the west coast. I asked a friend of mine who is half Pinoy half Greece that visited Malaysia few years back on where did she go.

I have never felt like a bad Malaysian in this way before. Haha.

So, after asking around for suggestions here is the list of places and activities to do:

Spend 3 days in Langkawi. Visit the historical sites, take the cable car to go to the hanging bridge, visit the beaches and try as much food as we can.

Drive down to Malacca, which is a UNESCO heritage site and is chokeful of Portuguese influences. Visit A Famosa, take the river boat, go up the Taming Sari tower and try the original Coconut Shake.

Visit Kuala Lumpur and utilise the public transportation systems. Where to? KLCC, KL Tower, Central Market, Dataran Merdeka etc. We might pop over to Batu Caves, which is a large Hindu temple.

Drive over to Putrajaya which is where the Ministries are.

Go to the Big Bad Wolf Book sale since he has “Been hearing you talk about it every year” and kindly not commenting on my 20 books purchase.

Drive him around my hometown and Klang Valley.

Have dinner at my favourite Thai restaurant, Sri Thai in PJ.

Things Moke has shown interest in:

1. Trying the KFC here as he says the KFC in Australia is bad.

2. Watch a movie because its cheap.

3. Have a double chicken special burger from a roadside stall. (Two chicken patties wrapped in egg).

4. Eat everything in sight.

I just showed him my rough draft and he likes it. Now, to come up with the budget.

Hanis.

3 thoughts on “Of This December.”

  1. Ahaha, I can second Moke on the KFC x)
    Confession: before you mentioned him to me specifically via text, I thought he was your cat or something. Don’t ask. #’_’#

    And I’ve been to Putrajaya! We saw a gorgeous sunset. I’m afraid all my Malaysian ventures were tainted with the sadness of leaving family in Sri Lanka, so we couldn’t enjoy it as much as should have. I have to say, though, one of our favourite foods in Malaysia was ‘fried ice-cream’ … Just putting that out there.

    Hope your plans go well, hope y’all have fun 🙂 It sounds terribly exciting, finally getting to meet an online buddy after being friends for so long, and then holidaying with them too! Wowzers. All the best.

    Like

    1. Hahahahaha. A cat. I got to tell him that. Wait, you were in Malaysia? Whennn?
      Confession: I never had a fried ice cream before. XD
      I am nervous meeting him, probably gonna be awkward cause in all this time we only voice Skyped thrice. -.- I might get shy.

      Like

      1. I don’t know how to explain this, but basically, whenever you quoted him on this blog, it kind of reminded me of the… imagined conversations I’d have with my cat. Oh God. I have publicly proclaimed my insanity, haven’t I?
        ButI’mserious – he sounds like a cat. Or you make him sound like one.

        And Malaysia… erm, eons ago, to be honest. I’m not sure if we were aware of each other on the online world. It must have been over four or five years ago. Like, end of year 7/start of year 8… So…. Heh. Too long 😛

        And you probably will be shy, to start with, but since you’ve pledged an adventure together – you’re stuck for TWO WEEKS – you’ll be forced to get over it. It’ll be fine, I’m sure 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

